Learn how to use the forum

Vietnamese

Discussion started on TypeTool

I have no experience with typography but wish to modify two fonts so that they will accept all Vietnamese diacritical marks. (Without reverting the vowel to Lucinda Grande.)

Will Type Tool 3 help me do this?

I would like to know before I purchase Type Tool or any other software.

Thank you.
#1 - 2013-04-20, 16:47

I do not use TypeTool but...

Could you be explicit about what you need to do? By "Vietnamese diacritical marks" do you mean some of the Unicode combining marks? If so I notice from the TypeTool description that:
The ability to edit the advanced typographic OpenType Layout features is not included in TypeTool, so other tools such as FontLab Studio, Microsoft VOLT or Adobe FDK for OpenType need to be used.
and OpenType Layout features would be required to make Unicode combining marks function.
#2 - 2013-05-16, 09:42

Dear Bob,

Thank you for your reply to my question.

To be more clear the attached .doc file shows the diacritical marks used in Vietnamese with some sample Viet in plain old Helvetica. Just for fun you will see the 18 ways to write the word "to" in their language. All of these can be pronounced with sixteen having a meaning.

Some marks are common with French and these are no problem. It is Unicode 0306, 0309, and 0323, which are troublesome. Unicode 031B has been successfully incorporated into my chosen fonts (.ttf) so I do not know why the others are being stubborn.

I did this with "MS Windows 1258 Vietnamese" in the Type Tool demo as shown in the .pdf attachment with all the targets highlighted. It does allow me to work on the desired diacriticals but then not all make to the finish line.

As for the other possible tools Font Lab Studio is rather expensive for the simple task I have; the free Microsoft VOLT does not run on this Mac computer; and Adobe FDK says: "It does not offer tools for designing or editing glyphs."